Posted by: tedgar110 | October 9, 2008

The changing of the seasons

Each and every year about this time, the temperature drops, sweaters and jackets come out of the closet and the leaves change color. Though I must admit that fall is my favorite time of year, I also find myself enjoying its revealing nature and the insight it provides to God’s great creation.

I am currently in Minnesota, where the Eco-Justice Program is preparing for its Environmental Health conference. Coming from DC, I have gone from late summer to mid-fall in less than 3 hours. And the best part about it is the leaves are changing color. The rainbow of colors that dot the lakes edge are stunning – the bright yellows and reds, the crisp and burnt orange, and even the brown ones create a palate that is truly extraordinary. Yes, I know the leaves change color every year and every year they become yellow, red and orange but this process never ceases to amaze me.

Yesterday, while wandering around the camp to get my bearings and take in the setting, I came across a nature trail dotted with scripture each reflecting on the greatness and beauty of God’s creation. Most of them were quite familiar to me but towards the end of my journey I stumbled across a verse i hadn’t read or heard in quite some time.

Romans 1:20 – For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even His eternal power and Godhead, so that they are without excuse

As I stopped to read and take in this verse. It not only speaks to the beauty and greatness of God’s creation, but to the role that each and every part of creation has in God’s larger community. From the changing of the leaves to the freezing of the lake and the hibernation of the bears, God’s great creation works in mysterious and beautiful ways that are evident during the changing of the seasons.

Leave a Reply

Categories

