Posted by: jblevins | November 18, 2008

The Rhythm of Life

If you trace back through this blog enough, you can see I have been on the road quite a bit lately. Switzerland at the end of October, Denver last week, and then two trips to Chicago were sprinkled in there. All of the trips have been great, and uplifting, as I get to hear about the work for eco-justice and the greater church that is going on all over this country, and around the world. As I settle back into life at home for a while, though, I am reminded how important having a routine is.

For me, that means not a lot of sleep, a trip to the gym for about an hour and a half every morning, and being in the office by 9. These last two days, as I have gotten to do that again, I have been reminded how important that is for everything else that I do – the relationships I carry on, the work that I do. For my body and my life to have a rhythm in which it moves, a routine that sustains it, is truly life giving.

So, what you ask is the point of writing this in this space? As I did some reflecting on that, it occured to me that the rest of God’s Creation is the same way, and that is why it is so natural for my body to settle into that rhythm. Life, God’s world, has a movement and a rhythm to it – that sustains it, grows it, and makes it life giving. However, the last month or so have also reminded me what happens when that rhythm is interrupted. And just as we have the ability to interrupt our own routines and rhythms, we can do the very same to the world around us.

I often say when I go to churches and speak that you don’t have to be a scientist to look at the world around us and determine that the way we are living isn’t in relationship with the rest of Creation. Another way of saying that is to say that we are clearly not living in rhythm with the rest of Creation. And you can see it faltering for it. Species going extinct, a water crisis around the world, a changing climate – all of these things are reflective of a Creation whose rhythm has been interrupted.

And so, I invite you to reflect, especially as we prepare to enter the Advent season, on what it would mean for you to live in rhythym with the world around you. What might that look like? Check out what some churches have decided it looks like, or take a look at the resources we provide for some inspiration. But, no matter what happens at the UN, in our own governemnt, we have to start with fitting ourselves into the rhythym of the world around it. God’s Creation needs that just as much as we each do.

Leave a Reply

Categories

