Posted by: Chloe Schwabe | September 25, 2009

New Healthy Stuff database

“I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.” – John 10.10

“On the banks, on both sides of the river, there will grow all kinds of trees for food, their leaves will not whither nor their fruit fail, but they will bear fresh fruit every month, because the water for them flows from the sanctuary. Their fruit will be for food and their leaves for healing.” -Ezekiel 47.12

The Bible speaks of the efforts to ensure that we live abundantly. It doesn’t mean that we have a house full of stuff- but many of us manage to have that too. I know even with the my efforts to live with a small footprint that I still accumulate things. Things I use, things I dont use, things people give me or leave behind, and things I used to use but haven’t “disposed” of in some way or another.

New Healthystuff.org tests 5000 consumer products for safety

New healthystuff.org tests 5000 consumer products for safety

I don’t think that a basement full of boxes is exactly what Jesus had in mind when he said “he came so they would have life and have it abundantly.”  But it certainly seems hard to get around this issue of stuff. In these more challenging economic times I try to take the time to think about the three following questions:

1) Do I need it?
2) How toxic is it?
3) Do the long term health impacts outweigh the short term costs of buying something that may cost more but is less toxic?

A new website was just created that can help me answer #2. Healthy Stuff.org tested 5000 car, toys, apparel, and pet products for safety and gives them a rating. based on this information I know what the safer options are and I can decide the answers to the other questions.

Additionally, by making mindful choices to choose products that cause less harm, I can better reflect the spirit of Jesus’s words. Safer products mean I can care for my body, protect Creation from toxic chemicals, and also protect vulnerable communities and workers near the manufacture or disposal facilities. Abundant living should really reflect a justice filled world that honors the health and safety of all God’s people and Creation.

Learn more about environmental health from a faith perspoective at www.nccecojustice.org/health

Responses

  1. Hi,

    I am Georgy from India and I own a christian blog at turnbacktogod.com (PageRank 3)

    I came across your blog today and i must say “its really good”.

    As our blogs are related, do you care for a blogroll exchange with my blog?

    If you do , please let me know about it.

    God Bless You

    Georgy N Joseph


Leave a Reply

Categories

