Posted by: tylere108 | February 22, 2010

Lent, climate justice, and food security

Hi everyone!

This lenten season the Eco-justice program is developing a lenten series on climate justice. Each week we are looking at a different theme. This week we are addressing climate justice and food security. We have asked individuals to share their stories with us so that we can share them with you!

Here is the first story from Katy – thanks for sharing Katy!

“I first discovered “Meatless Monday” at the end of 2009 (as “Meatfree Monday” from Yoko Ono’s twitter feed). After several years of contemplating becoming a vegetarian (and one failed attempt), I decided to try Meatfree Mondays.  It was a success! At the beginning of 2010, I decided to slowly cut meat out of my life.  I began researching food and its impact on not only the environment, but also hunger and justice issues, and my findings were shock to the system. I knew that if I wanted to truly live out my values, I needed to take action in an everyday way.  I could make choices about what I ate.  I could buy local, organic, and sustainable sources of food, and that could begin by cutting out meat.

My original plan was to cut out red meat in January, then chicken in February, then everything else in March.  However, January 4, 2010 I watched the film “Food, Inc.”  I went “cold turkey” the next day.  I haven’t eaten a bite of meat since.  I feel healthier, and I have peace of mind knowing that I’m making a small choice that has a positive impact on the environment, my health, and justice issues throughout the world.  Thank you for promoting Meatless Mondays!”

We will be posting our lenten reflections on the eco-justice website and if you are interested in receiving our lenten emails, please email me at tedgar@nccecojustice.org.

Blessings!

Responses

  1. Man! You guys are awesome. This is one of the funniest blogs I have come across yet.


Leave a Reply

Categories

